Wedding Invitations

A good friend of mine asked me to help her make her wedding invitations.  She gave me a few key words to go off of such as rustic, autumn, Wyoming, burlap, and lace.  It was nice to be given direction yet have the freedom to alter the design as I went through the process of picking out the materials and setting up the overall layout.  After I brainstormed a layout, I set out to find materials.  My first stop was Stampin’ Up!, of course.  I was able to get all of the cardstock I needed and a couple of extras.  A quick Etsy search lead me to a great little store called Paper and Parcel, which is actually based in Colorado, for the two different sizes of kraft paper envelopes I wanted.  A random blog post I came across directed me to another great Etsy store, Stamp Out Online, where I got a great RSVP stamp.  For the added texture I was looking for a picked up some lace and colored burlap from fabric.com.  Once I had all my materials I made a test mock-up and it happened to turn out just as awesome as I was picturing in my head.

The main natural cardstock is folded over and the brads and twine secure all of the layers together.  They simply lay loosely at the bottom and sides.  The writing is all printed on vellum paper and it overlays a dark orange burlap layer.  I had the prints made at a copy store and the results turned out excellent.  The ink tends to run, bleed, and is prone to smudges when printing on vellum with your standard liquid ink cartridge home use printer.  This can leave some of the type blurry which is not a quality many people seek for their wedding invitations.  The super nice man helping me at the copy store said that their printer uses powder based ink and it is instantly heat-set so you don’t have to worry about any smudges or drying time. The prints came out as clear as the pdf image looked on the screen.  I couldn’t have been more pleased with the printing and since I only used black ink and brought my own paper, the cost was very minimal.

The lace not only ‘weddings’ it up a bit, but also secures all the information pieces, RSVP card, and RSVP envelope to create a neat little package.

This is not a great picture, but the RSVP stamp was awesome and came out beautiful every time.  The excellent clear mounted stamp and quality cardstock made a great combination.

A couple of weekends ago I went to my friend’s house with all of the supplies and we set out to put them all together.  We worked in stages and had a mini assembly line going.  It took a little bit of time, but not that bad.  They turned out great and she loved them!

–Denise

Leave a Reply

