Christmas 2011

I had dreams of pretty ambitious list of handmade gifts for Christmas this year which did not quite end up a reality.  I did end up with a few things to share.  First, I made two backpacks for my sister’s nieces.  Kyle requested one featuring Ann Kelle’s scottie dog print and the other with bright colors.

These were both made using the Made By Rae pattern.  It is a great pattern and really easy to follow.  I have added a front zipper pocket to all of the versions that I have made so far.

I also choose to make all of the straps instead of using nylon webbing.  I like how all of the pieces fit together.

For the bright colors backpack I went with a Daisy Dot print from Patty Young’s Flora and Fauna collection.  You can’t really get much brighter than that.

Next, I made some quick and easy pot holders from some Sweet Nothings scraps I had.  They were for a little family gift exchange and paired with a few plain white tea towels.

My favorite print in the Sweet Nothings collection was used for the backing.  I enjoyed making these because they came together so quickly.

Allison, my other sister, received a laptop sleeve as a part of her gift.  She has always liked swimming and fish so I thought that this Snorkel print by Cosmo Cricket was fitting.

    I followed a tutorial from Sew Mama Sew.  It came together quickly and turned out great.  There is a fleece middle layer which gives it some nice padding.

My last gift to share is for my favorite little hoarder.  She likes having her stuff with her, so of course she needs her own toddler sized backpack.

I filled hers with various coloring books and activity pads along with a matching crayon roll.

I followed a tutorial by The Pleated Poppy to make the crayon roll.  I think it turned out great.  My favorite Sweet Nothings paisley print was a huge focus on these pieces.  To add a little sparkle, the crayon roll was filled with some glitter Crayolas.

That is it for this year. Maybe next year I will have a higher percentage of handmade gifts.  Happy New Year!

–Denise  

3 responses to “Christmas 2011

Leave a Reply

