Farm Fresh

Waiting, and waiting, and patiently waiting, and not-so-patiently waiting…..

That was me hoping for months that this fabric collection would be released.  It finally happened, and I knew I had to get a hold of a fat quarter bundle.  So that is exactly what I did.

I ordered this beauty from an excellent Etsy shop, QuiltEssentials, at a super sweet price.  Their service was outstanding and they had speedy quick shipping.  This girl will be a repeat customer for sure.

I cut all of the fat quarters, except for the large animal prints, into three varying lengths of rectangles and squares.  The three large animal prints were cut up into four large squares each.  I came up with the above layout to show off all of the amazing prints in this collection, Farm Fresh by October Afternoon for Riley Blake.  Honestly, I love all of the prints. 

I added in some extra yardage for the backing and binding.  I kept it all from the same collection because it is just too adorable not to.

This fat quarter bundle gave me plenty of pieces to make more than one quilt top.  I also completed a little version similar to the quick little blanket previously mentioned and there are still more pieces left.

Just like before, this little blanket is backed in a soft minky fabric and forgoes batting and a binding.  It is quilted together with a few diagonal criss-crossing lines. 

I just love this fabric.  Perhaps it is because I grew up on a farm.  Maybe it’s because I have a soft spot for animals.  It could be the stellar color scheme that is used.  The reason doesn’t really matter, it just makes me happy and that’s what counts!

–Denise

2 responses to “Farm Fresh

Leave a Reply

