Mother’s Day

Yesterday was Mother’s Day, and Kenley modeled a fancy dress for the special occasion.  She wore a dress that I recently made for her.  This is the first wearable garment I have ever completed, and the best part it was made entirely from remnant pieces.

I saw a few different toddler dresses on Etsy with tie straps that went through a slit in the back of the bodice to allow for adjustable shoulder straps and a cute bow in the back.  I thought this was an ingenious idea, and wondered if I could do it myself.  So, I set off to make some pattern pieces.  The pieces were based loosely off of a McCall’s pattern with slight modifications.

Cutting, pinning, and sewing commenced.  The only stumble came with attaching the skirt to the bodice.  I knew I wanted a gathered skirt to create volume, but I didn’t know the best way to go about this.  Trial and error tactics ensued, and the mission was finally accomplished.  Now I have experience under my belt and perhaps next time my pleats will turn out a little more uniform.

As it turns out, Kenley didn’t seem to mind.  She can be such a little Hambone sometimes.

Hope Mother’s Day was enjoyed by all!

–Denise

One response to “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

